This is my volunteer account, for my staff account see User:Dario (WMF)

Hello, I'm Dario. I am an Italian transplant in San Francisco.

My Wikipedia contributionsEdit

I have been editing Wikipedia for about 15 years and most recently I've become an avid Wikidata contributor. As an open knowledge and open science advocate, as well as a TeX groupie, you may find me edit articles on topics related to open access and digital typography. However, some of my proudest contributions to English Wikipedia are about bloody chapters in London history (Smithfield, London  ), hypothetical astronomy (Planet Nine  ), and natural and technical disasters (2014 South Napa earthquake, 2016 Central Italy earthquake‬, October 2016 Dyn cyberattack).

I am a compulsive new article creator, a WikiGnome, and an unabashed inclusionist. I also care a lot about citations and verifiability. Random love signals are filed here  .

My work at WikimediaEdit

I worked for the Wikimedia Foundation between 2011 and 2019. Between 2015 and 2019 I served as the Foundation's Director of Research, overseeing the organization's research strategy and driving our research collaboration and outreach efforts with industry, academia, and the Wikimedia movement. Prior to this role, I was the lead of the Research and Data team, a role I took on after joining WMF as an individual contributor in 2011.
I helped coordinate Wikimedia's early research outreach and policy making experiments via the Research Committee and I co-authored the Wikimedia Foundation's Open Access policy, which secures the openness and reusability of all the output of WMF's research collaborations. A lot of my energy these past years went into the creation of a community building an open repository of source metadata to serve free knowledge. Prior to joining the Wikimedia Foundation, I held research and teaching positions at Sciences Po, the University of Surrey and University College London. I hold an MSc and PhD in cognitive science from the School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences (EHESS), an MA in philosophy of science from the University of Pisa and a licenza from the Scuola Normale Superiore. A list of talks and publications is available on my personal homepage.

en-5This user can contribute with a professional level of English.
de-1Dieser Benutzer hat grundlegende Deutschkenntnisse.
fr-5Cet utilisateur parle français à un niveau professionnel.
nl-1Deze gebruiker bezit beginnende kennis van het Nederlands.
itQuesto utente è di madrelingua italiana.
la-2Hic usor media latinitate contribuere potest.
Search user languages