My IDEdit

itQuesto utente è di madrelingua italiana.
scnSt'utenti canusci lu sicilianu comu la sò lingua matri.
en-3This user can contribute with an advanced level of the English language.
es-3Este usuario puede contribuir con un nivel avanzado de español.
nl-2Deze gebruiker heeft een middelmatige kennis van het Nederlands.
fr-1Cet utilisateur peut contribuer avec un niveau élémentaire de français.
ca-1Aquest usuari pot contribuir amb un nivell bàsic de català.
 This user comes from Sicily.
 This user comes from Italy.
 This user plays the guitar.
gtr-3This user is an advanced guitarist.
bss-1This user is a novice bass guitarist.
 This user is a music composer.
This user is a social democrat.
 This user sees nothing wrong with the human form and doesn't view it as something that needs to be hidden.
 This user supports the
European Union.
  This user wants Sicilian to be recognized as first and official language of his native country.  
 This user wants all of Europe to adopt the euro. 
 This user is a member of
WikiProject Football.
 This user is a member of WikiProject Sicily.
py-4This user is an expert Python programmer.
js-2This user is an intermediate JavaScript programmer.
C-2This user is an intermediate C programmer.
c++-2This user is an intermediate C++ programmer.
Java-2This user is an intermediate Java programmer.
php-2This user is an intermediate PHP programmer.
css-3This user is an advanced Cascading Style Sheets user.
xhtml-3This user is an advanced XHTML user.
Perl-2This user is an intermediate Perl programmer.
 This user's motto is foizza Paliemmo!
This user drinks beer.
  This user is a football coach
 This user thinks that registration should be required to edit articles.
ehThis user speaks basically Canadian English, and is proud of it
girl-0This user is single by choice (not of him)
UO This user has an affiliation with the University of Ottawa.
 This user is an administrator on the English Wikipedia. (verify)
My Political Compass Scores
Date Social Economic
December 3, 2005 -6.15 -5.13
February 26, 2006¹ -7.23 -7.00
May 9, 2006 -7.08 -7.38
May 21, 2007 -6.72 -6.88
October 22, 2007 -6.41 -6.75
January 6, 2016 -7.38 -7.03
¹ I think the imminent Italian general election did some effects on my current beliefs...

First name: Angelo
Last name: Romano
Born: June 19, 1982 in Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Citizenship: Italian
Currently living in: Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
What I do now: Computer scientist (Web developer)
Known languages: Italian & Sicilian (mother tongue), English and Spanish (fluent), Dutch (intermediate level), and some basics of French, German and Catalan too
Favourite football team: U.S. Città di Palermo

More stuff about meEdit

I am a 34-year old software developer, and a computer science graduate. I enrolled at the University of Pisa in September 2000, and achieved a Bachelor's Degree in Computer Science on October 2004, and a Master's Degree in Information Technology on October 12, 2007.

I lived in Pisa, Italy (yeah, the city of the leaning tower) from 2000 to 2007, and then I spent a year in Florence working as a Web developer. In November 2008 I finally decided to leave my bittersweet homeland and move in the Netherlands, so my next tough missions is now to become sort of fluent in Dutch. After a few months in Amsterdam, in February 2009 I moved to Groningen, where I lived until September 2011, when I moved to Berlin, Germany. I successively spent a 1.5 year period in Utrecht before to move to Barcelona, where I live since March 2016.

I also had an exchange student experience, in the January-May 2004 period, at the University of Ottawa, located in Ottawa, the capital city of Canada, where I learned that few of English I am able today to use. I really loved Canada, and it is not so obvious for a Sicilian guy to be impressed by a place in which it snows and is cold every day in the winter months.

I spend my free-time by enjoying beer with friends (but now with much less extent than earlier), playing/writing songs with an electric, acoustic or bass guitar (all instrument I keep into my tiny one-roomed flat in the city downtown, listening to good music (in the rock/jazz/blues/indie range). I also used to organize and manage football teams at the local university Sports Services (CUS Pisa) for the Intramural University Leagues with unimpressive results (at least the lads did respect me, that's what I really cared about...).

Another thing I really love, but is somehow forbidden to me by money reasons, is traveling around the world, especially unplanned trips. A short list of places which I hope to visit before to die is available here.

Coaching careerEdit

Angelo Romano
Personal information
Full name Angelo Romano
Date of birth (1982-06-19) June 19, 1982 (age 37)
Place of birth Mazara del Vallo, Italy
Height 1.70 m (5 ft 7 in)
Playing position(s) Player/Manager
Teams managed
Years Team
Mar-Apr 2003 PFC Tu Rischi (11 a side, assistant coach)
Jun-Jul 2003 Nino Barraco FC (7 a side)
Oct-Dec 2003 Scantateam United (5 a side)
Oct 2004-Apr 2005 Jack Daniels OFC (5 a side)
May-Jul 2005 Leadernello (7 a side)
May-Jul 2006 Leader Plate (7 a side)
Oct 2006-Apr 2007 Leaderpool (5 a side)

In my university free-time I also served as a football coach at the local intramural university league level. It all started as a joke, however I liked it so much I live now with the desire to seek a coaching license once I'll be free from my current commitments. You know, I find pretty exciting to sit down on my bench and start shouting nonsense towards the pitch, the players and the referee. However, despite my hot-blooded character, I've never been sanctioned by a ref and my teams have always shown a correct discipline, because I deeply care about respect and I always considered football for what it really means to me: that is, a game. Victory is fine, yep, but it's much less important than enjoyment, and I get angry when people do not understand this basic principle of sports and life.

Since I left Italy in late 2008, my expectations for becoming a football manager are slowly fading out. Yes, I know, I am now living in the land of total football, however I doubt the KNVB would allow me joining their classes...

Note: All teams and results refer to University Intramural Leagues held in Pisa, Italy.

Period Tournament Team Result
2002/2003 Football P.F.C. Tu Rischi¹ 4th place
2002/2003 Seven-a-side football Nino Barraco Fans Club 2nd place
2003/2004 Five-a-side football Scantateam United² [1] Serie B, 16th finals
2004/2005 Five-a-side football Jack Daniels O.F.C. [2] Serie A, Quarter finals
2004/2005 Basketball The Mobsters 9th place
2004/2005 Seven-a-side football Leadernello³ 4th place
2005/2006 Seven-a-side football Leader Plate [3] 4th place
2006/2007 Five-a-side football Leaderpool Serie C, Quarter-finals [4]
¹ Role of assistant coach

² Resigned in December 2003

³ Best team result: Romano also coached two other teams, U.S. Porta 'a Birra and JD Senators, both eliminated at the 16th finals


I released a number of homemade demos and CDs, which can be all found and downloaded at my personal music website. I also played live concerts (solo and with band) around Europe extensively, hitting countries such as Germany, Spain, Poland, France, Belgium, Netherlands, Czech Republic and Slovakia with my original songs.

Places to be visitedEdit

This is a list of places to be visited, according to me, organized by country (the ones I already visited are shown as bolded):

Places that I have visitedEdit

Including only cities that really deserve to be mentioned for some reason, either personal or not.

My favourite topicsEdit

Sicily, its history and its culture, Italian soccer (and related things, of course), Italian politics, history of rock music, the universitary world of Italy (because I think culture is the real richness) and, surely, anything else you want ;-)

Things to readEdit

Political theories

Swedish way to social democracy

Canadian way to social democracy

Left-wing politics of Italy

Something about my island

Political/social ideas I support


I also contribute occasionally on Italian Wikipedia, mainly about Sicilian, Canadian, musical and political articles, and (very) rarely on English Wiktionary, Sicilian Wiktionary, French Wikipédia, Wikimedia Commons, and Wikibooks.

I have a Wikiscore of 125.

My identity commitment is as follows:

Committed identity: 5b07e061e5b80d925765d2bcebb79850197c2dc19b5072302a76bbb629350040a8b2d9390d65b548395af95ee2ac7e9b08aa5c79c2c4f15217157f95c79cf22e

is a SHA-512 commitment to this user's real-life identity.

Barnstars and awardsEdit

The Reynald Pedros' Barnstar

I present you this original sport man's barnstar in recognition
and appreciation to your tireless efforts in the improvement
of football (soccer) articles. Just like Reynald, you've struggled
to make this football world a better place. AbdelkweliTalk
  The Running Man Barnstar
This barnstar awarded to Angelo Romano for his contributions to Italian sport on Wikipedia. Blnguyen (bananabucket) 06:14, 15 December 2006 (UTC)
  The Bronze Wiki
For replacing non-free images with free ones, Quadell awards you this shiny new Bronze Wiki! Use it only for good, and never for evil.
Not redeemable for marshmallows. Keep out of reach of vandals. Not to be used as a prophylactic. Void in Vermont.

  The Working Man's Barnstar
The laborious task of sorting out all those images deserves some recognition. Well done. ChrisTheDude 07:13, 28 June 2007 (UTC)
  Football (soccer) barnstar
You are hereby awarded this "Football Barnstar" for dedicating your time and effort during the month of November, 2007 on formulating Wikipedia's NC for sports teams. --Riurik(discuss) 07:06, 21 December 2007 (UTC)