Oolitic, Indiana: Difference between revisions

m
m (replaced: households → households, (2), individuals → individuals, (2), spread out → spread out,)
 
Oolitic was originally platted as "Limestone" on September 26, 1888. In 1896, the name was sent to Washington, D.C., to allow a post office to be established. The request was refused because of a town already named Limestone, Indiana. Doctor R. B. Short suggested using "Oolitic", and Oolitic became incorporated on November 4, 1901.
The word Oolitic was used as an adjective for Oolitic limestone (derived from the Greek word [[oolite]], meaning eggs and stone). Limestone is a sedimentary rock composed of calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate and quartz, along with the small shells and eggs left behind when this area was covered by an inland sea.
Found immediately north of Oolitic are some of the largest Limestone quarries in the world, many of them in continuous operation since the 1830s. Many famous buildings are built of Oolitic Limestone. Probably the most famous is the [[Empire State Building]]. Visitors can see the "Empire Hole," about 1/2 mile north of Oolitic
 
==Demographics==