Help:Reverting: Difference between revisions

m
Reverted edits by 109.118.127.151 (talk) (HG) (3.4.10)
Tags: Mobile edit Mobile web edit Reverted
m (Reverted edits by 109.118.127.151 (talk) (HG) (3.4.10))
{{pp-move-indef}}
{{Wikipedia how to|H:RV|WP:REVERT}}
 
On Wikipedia, '''reverting''' means [[#Undo|undo]]ing or otherwise negating the effects of one or more edits, which results in the page (or a part of it) being restored to a previous version. ''Partial reversion'' involves restoring one part of the page to a previous version, but leaving other contributions intact. ''Self-reversion'' is the act of reverting your own edits. Reverting does not always involve the use of the [[Help:Undo|undo]] tool. Any method of editing that has the practical effect of returning some or all of the page to a previous version counts as a reversion.
 
Reverting a contribution is sometimes appropriate. However, reverting good-faith actions of other editors can also be disruptive and may lead to the reverter being temporarily [[WP:BLOCK|blocked]] from editing. The [[WP:3RR|three-revert rule]] (part of the [[WP:Edit warring|Edit warring]] policy) limits the number of times an editor can revert edits (including partial reversions) on a page.
 
== Before reverting ==
Consider carefully before reverting, as it rejects the contributions of another editor. Consider what you object to, and what the editor was attempting. Can you improve the edit, bringing progress, rather than reverting it? Can you [[Wikipedia:Reverting#Do a partial reversion when appropriate|revert only part of the edit]], or do you need to revert the whole thing?
 
In the edit summary or on the talk page, succinctly explain why the change you are reverting was a bad idea or why reverting it is a better idea. In cases of blatant vandalism, uncontroversially disruptive changes or unexplained removals, the amount of explanation needed is minimal. But in the event of a content dispute, a convincing politely-worded explanation gains much importance and avoids unnecessary disputes.
 
==Manual reverting==
There are several ways to revert edits. A reversion can be carried out manually by editing the page to delete wrongly added text or restore wrongly deleted text. You can do this by copying and pasting text from a past version.
* Publish changes.
* Optional: Go to the Talk page and explain what you've done, and why.
 
==Undo==
{{shortcut|WP:UNDO}}
 
The MediaWiki software sometimes enables editors to easily revert ('''undo''') a single edit from the history of a page, without simultaneously undoing all constructive changes that have been made since. To do this, view the [[Help:Page history|page history]] or the [[Help:diff|diff]] for the edit, then click on "undo" next to the edit in question. The software will attempt to create an edit page with a version of the article in which the undesirable edit has been removed, but all later edits are retained. There is a default edit summary, but this can be modified before saving.
 
It is also possible to undo several consecutive edits, even if they conflict among themselves: view the "diff" to be removed (by selecting the earliest and most recent revisions in the history and clicking "compare selected revisions"), and click the "undo" link.
 
==Rollback==
 
{{seealso|Wikipedia:Rollback}}
 
[[Wikipedia:Administrators|Administrators]] and other editors who have been granted access to the rollback feature have additional links that:
* appear only next to the top edit
* revert ''all'' top consecutive edits made by the last editor
* work immediately, without the intermediate confirmation diff page
* add automatic [[Help:edit summary|edit summary]] "'''m''' ''Reverted edits by [[Special:Contributions/Example1|Example1]] ([[User talk:Example|talk]]) to last version by Example2''", marking edit as minor
 
Rollback links appear on the [[Help:user contributions|user contributions]] pages, [[Help:Watching pages|user watchlists]], [[Special:RecentChanges|recent changes pages]], [[Help:Page history|history pages]] and [[Help:Diff|diff pages]]. Note that in the last case, rollback links can be misleading, since reversion is not necessarily to the old version shown (the diff page may show the combined result of edits, including some by other editors or only part of the edits the rollback button would revert). To see the changes the rollback button will revert, view the specific diff that compares the last version from the last editor with the last version from the previous editor. Users with Twinkle enabled will also have three buttons which works similar to rollback, but each is used in a different situations;
 
Rollback AGF is used to revert good-faith edits, so an edit summary is required.
 
The standard rollback allows doing mostly the same thing but with an edit summary.
 
The vandalism button should only be used to revert obvious vandalism, since it only takes a single click and does not require an edit summary.
 
The rollback button will look similar to this:
 
[<nowiki/>[[wikipedia:Rollback|rollback: 1 edit]]]
 
Rollback works much more quickly than undo, since it:
* allows reverting without even looking at the list of revisions or diff
* does not require loading an edit page and sending the wikitext back to the server
* does not require a click of the Publish changes button
 
On the other hand, it is not as versatile as undo, since it does not allow specification of which edits have to be undone. One may want to revert more or fewer edits than the rollback does or edits that do not include the last edit. It also does not allow adding an explanation to the automatic edit summary. Rollback may only be used in [[Wikipedia:Rollback_feature#When_to_use_rollback|certain circumstances]]; most commonly to revert [[WP:VANDTYPES|obvious vandalism]]. Rolling back a good-faith edit or even during an [[Wikipedia:Edit warring|edit-war]] may be interpreted as "I think your edit was no better than vandalism and reverting it doesn't need an explanation". The rollback right can be revoked on misuse: refer to [[WP:Rollback|its main page]].
 
If someone else edited or rolled back the page before you clicked the "rollback" link, or if there was no previous editor, you will get an error message.
 
===Bot rollback===
In cases of flood vandalism (rapid changes to many articles), administrators may choose to hide vandalism and reverts from [[Help:recent changes|recent changes]]. To do this, add <kbd>&bot=1</kbd> to the end of the url used to access a user's contributions. For example: http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Special:Contributions&target=SomePersistentVandal&bot=1.
 
When the rollback links on the contributions list are clicked, the revert and the original edit that you are reverting will both be hidden from recent changes, unless you click the "bots" link in the Recent Changes to set <kbd>hidebots=0</kbd>. The edits are not hidden from contributions lists, page histories or watchlists. The edits remain in the database and are not removed, but they no longer flood "Recent changes". The aim of this feature is to reduce the annoyance factor of a flood vandal, with relatively little effort. This should ''not'' be used for reverting a change you just don't like, but is meant only for massive floods of simple vandalism.
 
==Reverting images==
To revert an image to a previous version, go to the image page and click on "File history."
 
You will then see a list of past edits and a thumbnail graphic of each. Logged-in users will also see a "Revert" link for versions other than the current one. Click on a Revert link to make the change.
 
If the image is at [[Wikimedia Commons]] you must click through to the image page there to do the revert. Then scroll down to the thumbnails. Beside the thumbnail you wish there will be the word "Revert". You will need to be logged in at Commons.
 
==Reverting multiple non-contiguous edits==