The MediaWiki software sometimes enables editors to easily revert ('''undo''') a single edit from the history of a page, without simultaneously undoing all constructive changes that have been made since. To do this, view the [[
It is also possible to undo several consecutive edits, even if they conflict among themselves: view the "diff" to be removed (by selecting the earliest and most recent revisions in the history and clicking "compare selected revisions"), and click the "undo" link.
* add automatic [[Help:edit summary|edit summary]] "'''m''' ''Reverted edits by [[Special:Contributions/Example1|Example1]] ([[User talk:Example|talk]]) to last version by Example2''", marking edit as minor
Rollback links appear on the [[Help:user contributions|user contributions]] pages, [[Help:Watching pages|user watchlists]], [[Special:RecentChanges|recent changes pages]], [[Help:Page history|history pages]] and diff pages. Note that in the last case, rollback links can be misleading, since reversion is not necessarily to the old version shown (the diff page may show the combined result of edits, including some by other editors or only part of the edits the rollback button would revert). To see the changes the rollback button will revert, view the specific diff that compares the last version from the last editor with the last version from the previous editor. Users with Twinkle enabled will also have three buttons which works similar to rollback, but each is used in a different situations;
Rollback AGF is used to revert good-faith edits, so an edit summary is required.
In cases of flood vandalism (rapid changes to many articles), administrators may choose to hide vandalism and reverts from . To do this, add <kbd>&bot=1</kbd> to the end of the url used to access a user's contributions. For example:
When the rollback links on the contributions list are clicked, the revert and the original edit that you are reverting will both be hidden from recent changes, unless you click the "bots" link in the Recent Changes to set <kbd>hidebots=0</kbd>. The edits are not hidden from contributions lists, page histories or watchlists. The edits remain in the database and are not removed, but they no longer flood "Recent changes". The aim of this feature is to reduce the annoyance factor of a flood vandal, with relatively little effort. This should ''not'' be used for reverting a change you just don't like, but is meant only for massive floods of simple vandalism.