Mariners' Museum and Park: Difference between revisions
m (→See also)
==Park and Noland Trail==
Sunset_On_Lions_Bridge_Newport_News_VA.jpg|Sunset on the James, as seen from the Lions Bridge▼
The Mariners' Museum Park is 550 acres of privately maintained, naturally wooded property that offers visitors a quiet and serene place to walk, run, or picnic. Within the Park is the 167-acre [[Lake Maury]], named for the famed 19th-century oceanographer and native Virginian, Matthew Fontaine Maury.
Following the shoreline of Lake Maury is the five-mile Noland Trail. Dedicated as a gift from the Noland Family in 1991 and with significant ongoing financial support from the Noland Family, the trail has fourteen bridges, picnic areas, benches, handicap access, and mile markers. Each fall The Mariners' Museum hosts a 10K run on the Noland Trail.
The Mariners’ Museum Park is open daily to the public. Benches at approximately every half-mile offer places of rest along the trail, and views of Lake Maury can be found around every corner.
The famous Lions Bridge, a dam that provides a scenic view of the James River, remains a highlight for visitors—a perfect family gathering place to enjoy the Museum Park. The beauty of the dam is enhanced by several fine pieces of statuary designed by Anna Hyatt Huntington, sculptor and wife of Museum founder Archer Milton Huntington. Four stone lions were mounted on the ends of the parapets of the dam in October 1932. Anna also created and dedicated a monument entitled ''Conquering the Wild'' that overlooks the Lions Bridge, the park, and Lake Maury.
▲Sunset_On_Lions_Bridge_Newport_News_VA.jpg|Sunset on the James, as seen from the Lions Bridge