Mariners' Museum and Park: Difference between revisions

→‎Park and Noland Trail: Replace POV adjective "breathtaking"
(→‎Park and Noland Trail: Replace POV adjective "breathtaking")
The Mariners’ Museum Park is open daily to the public. Benches at approximately every half-mile offer places of rest along the trail, and views of Lake Maury can be found around every corner.
 
The famous Lions Bridge, a dam that provides a breathtakingscenic view of the James River, remains a highlight for visitors—a perfect family gathering place to enjoy the Museum Park. The beauty of the dam is enhanced by several fine pieces of statuary designed by Anna Hyatt Huntington, sculptor and wife of Museum founder Archer Milton Huntington. Four stone lions were mounted on the ends of the parapets of the dam in October 1932. Anna also created and dedicated a monument entitled ''Conquering the Wild'' that overlooks the Lions Bridge, the park, and Lake Maury.
<gallery>
Sunset_On_Lions_Bridge_Newport_News_VA.jpg|Sunset on the James, as seen from the Lions Bridge