SavearticleEdit

Should use "{{MediaWiki:Savearticle}}" for the phrase "Save page", for consistency, when the button message has been changed.

Someone else has changed this page since you started editing it, resulting in an [[Help:Edit conflict|edit conflict]]. The upper text area contains the page text as it currently exists (without your changes). Your version of the page (with your changes) is shown in the lower text area. You will have to merge your changes into the existing text in the upper text area to incorporate your edits. <strong>Only</strong> the text in the upper text area will be saved when you press "{{MediaWiki:Savearticle}}"; all other changes in the lower text area will be lost. <p>

Threaded pagesEdit

The "cut and paste" method can introduce errors on threaded pages, such as the Admins' noticeboards. The problem arises when edits are made between the initial attempt to save (which generates the "edit conflict" page and message) and the editor's eventual successful saving of his copy-pasted version. An example is here [1]. DuncanHill (talk) 16:00, 7 September 2008 (UTC)

Suggested clarificationEdit

The message states: Please do not just copy the text from the lower text area into the upper, unless you're sure that you want to undo all other changes made while you were editing this page. I recommend that "copy the text" be changed to "copy the entire text" or similar. Right now the wording could be interpreted to mean not to copy any text. Regards, Orange Suede Sofa (talk) 07:54, 23 October 2012 (UTC)

Protected edit request on 3 June 2019Edit

To fix lint errors, please remove the <p> at the end of the wikitext. It has no effect, so please just get rid of it. — Anomalocaris (talk) 02:49, 3 June 2019 (UTC)

  Done — JJMC89(T·C) 02:52, 3 June 2019 (UTC)
Return to "Explainconflict" page.